France, Germany, Netherlands, Austria Ban Flights from UK, Fearing Coronavirus Variant

Berlin: France, Germany, The Netherlands, Belgium, Austria and Italy on Sunday banned flights from the UK to prevent a new strain of coronavirus that’s sweeping across southern England from gaining a foothold on the continent.

The Netherlands banned flights from the UK for at least the rest of the year while Belgium issued a flight ban for 24 hours starting at midnight and also halted train links to Britain, including the Eurostar. Italy’s Foreign Minister Luigi Di Maio said his country woudld also suspend all flights from Britain “to protect Italians.”

Austria said it would also halt flights from the UK but there were no immediate details on the timing of the ban, the Austrian news agency APA reported. The Czech Republic, meanwhile, imposed stricter quarantine measures from people arriving from the UK.

Germany says it’s banning flights from the UK starting at midnight, local time, in response to new virus variant. Read more…..


Chart of the Day

Icarus TV

Several European Union nations on Sunday banned flights from the U.K. and Germany was considering limiting such flights to make sure that a new strain of coronavirus sweeping across southern England does not establish a strong foothold on the continent.

Share This Post

Leave a Reply